My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

Sweet nothings

2 Comments

Tunmun makes everyone feel special.

She strikes poses in clothes stitched by Dadi.

She sings and performs for Dadu, who then rewards her with sweets.

As for dad, anything will do.

“Whose jaan are you Tunmun?”

Tumre” (i.e. tumhare which means yours. Thats the final bit of baby talk remaining in her)

“Show me the universe !”

And Tunmun promptly opens her mouth as the dad peeps in.

The bro gets unflinching loyalty. She refuses to buy ice cream if Bhaiya cannot eat one.

What about the Mamma? Yesterday as Tunmun prepared to go to bed,  she said,

“Mamma I don’t want to grow up and be like you.”

What! Am I such a negative example?

“Why Tunmun?”

“I don’t want to grow up.” She repeated.

“But why??”

“I want to remain little so that you are with me. I will miss you when I grow up.”

“So what? I will become little and you will be my Mamma!”

“No. You cannot become little. I know!”

Uh! She knows now that we cannot grow backwards! Another sign she is not a baby anymore!

“OK. But why won’t be I with you?”

Tunmun remains silent. Venky chimes in.

“Yes. Mamma will be old but she will still be there!”

“Yes, like Dadi. I will be with you even after you grow up.” I said.

“But your Mamma is not here. You miss her!”

Silence.

“Uhmmm. Yes. But I will be with you even after you grow up. If you want me to.”

Tunmun hugs me.

“I always want to be your baby Mamma!”

I sigh as I hug her back. I want you to remain my baby too. But time has wings. And so will you, my sweetheart!

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

2 thoughts on “Sweet nothings

  1. I got emotional.. aww… that last sentence.. I always want to be your baby, mamma

    these kids melt our hearts…

Leave a Reply

