My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

Anything to get Venky’s attention

2 Comments

Venky is our typical 7 year old boy. He is playing from dawn to dusk. On weekdays and weekends. He is barely seen in the house. He has to be dragged back home from the community park for his meals. He comes, gobbles his food and wooosh!, he’s gone again.

Last Saturday, he was dragged back home during afternoon. He reluctantly sat on the bed reading while our daughter played with us and told us her myriad stories.

I have already reached a point where I need more attention from Venky than he needs from me.

“Venky…”

“Hmm…”

“Venky..”

“Hmm…” Venky continues to focus on his book.

“Do you know…”

“Hmmmm….?”

“Your parents exist in this world.”

Venky looks at me with questioning eyes.

“You know that, right?”

Venky nods.

“Then it might make sense to spend some time with them?”

“WHAT! Mommy!! You scared me! I thought you were telling me I was adopted!!”

And that is how I finally had Venky’s attention. 🙂

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

2 thoughts on “Anything to get Venky’s attention

  1. what???!!!! hahahaha he is a smarty you see 🙂

  2. Hee hee. We keep teasing him that we got him from passport office! 😀

Leave a Reply

