My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

What’s in a marriage?

3 Comments

Summer holiday is in full swing. There is no compulsion for the kids to sleep early. They are making the most of it. Every night they want a “role play” session once we are on the bed. Tunmun is the one who gets to decide which story. Sometimes it is “The little red riding hood”, or “Jack and the bean stalk” or maybe the “The little red hen.” Yesterday, she chose “The jungle book.”

For the jungle book role play, their dad always gets to be Baloo. After all he is the one with spongy tummy ;). Vibhu was down with cold yesterday, so he refused to let Tunmun (who was now playing Mowgli) sit on his tummy. “Mommy is Baloo today.”, he said. 

I refused to be Baloo. After all, I have already done my share of letting the kids lie in my tummy for 9 months. I am totally done with it. No more sleeping in or on my tummy!

Venky racked his brains, “Okey, mommy is Bagheera then. You can climb on her back Tunmun.”

“No way, I am mother wolf. Come, give me a kissie.” (Mother wolf gets to lick her kids ;))

“No. You will be Bagheera.”

“No. I will be mother wolf.”

“No. Baloo and Bagheera are best friends. You will be Bagheera.”

“How does that matter?”

“Papa is Baloo. You and papa are best friends,so you will be Bagheera.”

I was listening now!

“Who told you we are best friends?”

“I know.”

“How?”

“That is why the two of you married. Now you become Bagheera.”

Parenting is a tough job. You want to perform well there. In fact you want to excel. But you have no clue of how you are doing. Feedback is none/ limited/ vague. Your bosses are judging you 24X7 but not telling you. And by the time you get your report card, it’s often too late.

These sudden validations are relieving and heartening. Two important points to note here are

1. Venky thinks his parents are best friends.

2. Venky thinks marriage is about friendship.

So, as far as marriage is concerned and more specifically his parents’, we are giving him the right picture 🙂 Phew!

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

3 thoughts on “What’s in a marriage?

  1. I have noted the points, and thats how marriage should be….like two best friends spending life together 🙂 even the thought of it is beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

