My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

SIX

7 Comments

Six, six, six, six ….. I have to keep repeating this number to make myself believe that you have indeed been around for that long. Haven’t you grown up a little too fast? From my little, restless bundle of energy to a quiet, responsible, sincere kid.

Yes sweetheart, you have changed this year. You have matured in more ways than one. You are happy to help out when your mom is shifting rooms and spring cleaning. And well, I was surprised that you noticed that I arranged your bookshelf and what’s more, appreciated it too!

Now, you prefer to be with your friends over us. The sphere of external influence is increasing and you throw some surprises and some shockers at us.

You not only know what Gangnam style is, you can even dance to it. I bet we have never shown you the video or even mentioned it ever.

The other day when we were discussing that some one we knew was getting married, your question was “Is it an arranged marriage or a love marriage?” ! Well, I think I better start preparing the answer for when you will pop the question on us!

You can understand and crack jokes now.

“When a snake bites, you should tie a rope or cloth above it and cut the vein where it has bitten so that the poison does not spread.”, Venky tells me.

“Yes.”

“So, if you do not find anything to tie what will you do?”

“What?”

“Tie the snake.” 🙂

You learn with sincerity. Be it english, maths or swimming. You make all your effort. You give your 100%. Your maths skills remain quite advanced and you have us dreaming of sending you to Ivy League schools and making it big in the tech world.

But my dear son, I want you to know and remember that you reserve the rights to give up our dreams for the sake of yours. We may be upset; please point us to this blog then. You have the right to think differently from ours, have different goals and aspirations. And you have the rights to follow them. But then, we reserve the rights to try to convince you to our point of view 😉 I want you to remember dear Venky that you do not owe us meeting our expectations. We are blessed to have you just the way you are. Just the way you are. And we have to become the parents of the person you are. Not that it is easy with your high energy and fussy eating :p

WP_20130425_002

Love you lots, my little-big boy.

Mommy

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

7 thoughts on “SIX

  1. firstly a big happy birthday to venky
    secondly, I’ve been reading this blog for over two years now!

    • Venky says thanks. Really, two years? What’s more, you have a boy of your own now 🙂

      • Oh yes! i I remember his birthday post from when he was four 🙂 I was wondering what the heck Ben 10 is. I’m now pretty close to finding out… I don’t know you guys but if you don’t post in a while I start missing the kids. Cheesy, huh?

        • I should make it a point to post more often then 🙂 Get ready for a refresher course in nursery rhymes, panchtantra stories and crash course in new age stories of pepper, bruno, chota bheem, ben 10 😉

  2. B’day wishes to mommy’s little big boy 🙂

  3. Pingback: My Birthday Boy | My little rock stars

Leave a Reply

