My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

He said it

15 Comments

Sometimes I ask Venky if I should quit work and stay at home to take care of him. The answer is always a big resounding NO.

A few days ago, I popped up the same question to hear back the same answer.Β 

“Why not? Your friends X and Y’s moms stay at home.” (Most of the moms in my colony at SAHMs)

“What will you do at home, mommy?”

“What ever they do. Cook for you. Take care of you.”

“Mommy, is it necessary that all people have to be the same? Why can one not be different?”

I was rendered quite speechless by the profoundness of his statement. He could have asked the whole world that. I couldn’t help not feeling joy and pride at my son’s understanding and acceptance of differences, more so when his mother was concerned.Β 

Way to go, my little philosopher! πŸ™‚

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

15 thoughts on “He said it

  1. Those are quite mature words from a young lad like venky, which even some elders fail to understand, lucky you for having such a understanding kid. And congratulations for binging him up in such a way. Yup way to go, little venky.

    • Actually I was wondering if accepting differences came naturally to kids and we elders taught them otherwise. In any case, it was heartening to hear him say such a thing and I hope he keeps this attitude when he grows up.

      • Yes you are right, but I believe that applies more as far as considering equality among different people related to caste, creed, color etc. A basic example would how kids at home consider the house helps just one among us and which is so right. But here a simple wish of seeing your mom at home with you is so normal, and lot of kids give a tough time to their working moms expecting this when they see how it is with their friends.

        • Yes, that is why it surprises me that he does have the “need” of having his mom at home. But I guess that is because he does not really miss me. He comes back from school at 4 and rushes out to play and needs to be dragged back home at sundown by which time I am home πŸ™‚ In any case, it’s a relief. Frees me from all the guilt that comes with being a working mom.

  2. He is a great philosopher in the making. Cute it sounds and so practical for him to speak that.

  3. I’m speechless! No wonder they say “From the mouths of babes” πŸ™‚
    I seriously wonder if growing up is really such a great thing as we make it out to be.

    • It’s great because you can *choose* to make choices about your life. I say choose, because most adults let others make choices about their life. Other than that, kids are far more tolerant, forgiving, understanding and resilient. And not to forget LOVING. That is why having kids around is great for adults. But for these adorable creatures being surrounded in a world full of adults taking advantage of them must not be too great.
      Am I making sense?

  4. Give him a hug for me…words of wisdom outta the mouth of babes!

  5. Kids do know how to look at the world so simply..and truly!

  6. Children are saner and clearer in thought process than we adults are, once again proved πŸ™‚ Pat on his back from me, okay?

Leave a Reply

