My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

A different life

7 Comments

A few days ago I was having a “get to know each other” chat with my new boss. “What are your career aspirations?”, he asked.

“I don’t know.” I replied.

“I don’t know.”??? Seriously? I actually said that? To my boss? What was I thinking?? I wondered at my own reply, the moment it slipped out of my lips.

But that is the truth. I am enjoying what I do. I like the fact that it is mostly stress free. I get enough time with my kids. I would like to have a reasonable growth rate in my career and not fall behind everybody. But there is no finishing line.

When I told Vibhu about the conversation he was upset. “What kind of career stalling reply was that?”

“When  I fell for you, I had thought that you would be attending board room meeting in short skirts by this time. But look at you! You behave like a housewife working only for time pass.”

To tell you the truth, 12 years ago, that is the picture I had for myself too. Attending board room meetings in short skirts. Having a high-flying life. I even pictured my self divorced because I imagined no man will be able to take that. Kids were nowhere in the plan.

I am not sure why I had Venky. Probably because Vibhu surely wanted to be a dad and I was not sure that I did not want to be a mom. Plus all the moms of this country were making my life hell with baby demands. So, I thought I might as well have a baby and Venky arrived. And Bam! My whole life changed.

In between sleepless nights and diaper changing sessions I fell hard in love with the little man. I discovered that side of myself which I did not know existed. Everything else became insignificant compared to the new lovely world of parenthood.

So here I am. With two adorable kids. A working mom who wants a career, but a board room meeting is not my calling anymore. Playing with my kids is. And in between cuddles and kisses and hugs, dare I say that life is good? It is beautiful. It is a blessing. I am loving every moment it and I can only thank my kids for that.

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

7 thoughts on “A different life

  1. The last line says it all, as long as you are happy 🙂

  2. Unpredictability makes this life get a dreamy feel & as far you are loving what you are doing everything else is really secondary 🙂

  3. Pingback: Simbly Bored» Blog Archive » A massive change

  4. This is somewhat my story as well and somewhat 11 years ago my husband thought something of this kind only for me 😉 and now he says the same thing in amazement that how my priorities have changed and how my career and moving ahead towards the glass ceiling is not my aim anymore…

    P.S. lol at divorced by this time logic: super funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

