My little rock stars

Memoirs of my mommyhood

Sense of humour

7 Comments

The first couple of years of parenthood are so consuming that we don’t even imagine that this “perpetually clinging thingie which needs us for basics like feeding, pooping, sleeping” is actually an individual. Then suddenly one day you realize that the thingie has a sense of humour too!

We’ve often warned Venky of the dangers of venturing out alone and getting friendly to strangers. One story that we often use to emphasise the dangers of kids not listening to their parents esp. outside homes is that of Nemo (God bless Disney). So any stranger who can kidnap kids is now a “diver”.

Yesterday, after lunch the kids were playing outside in the garden. Tunmun, who has recently learnt to walk was exploring the flora with unstable steps and I was closely following her. Suddenly, I could not see Venky. So, I shouted for him

“Venky, where are you?”

From somewhere a voice came “I am lost!”

“What !?! ”

“Yes, I am lost. The diver has kidnapped me!”

Out came Venky jumping

“Ha ha ha Mommy. I was only hiding”

I was laughing too. My son has become old enough to tease me. He’s become my friend. When did this transition from clingy, whiny thingie to an independent, funny boy happen? How could I miss it? Isn’t he growing up too fast? 🙂

Author: MoRS

Memoirs of my mommyhood

7 thoughts on “Sense of humour

  1. awww…Venky is certainly humorous and sweet 🙂

    aww @ tunmun’s tiny baby steps …I’m imagining her take those 🙂

    P.S. I love Finding Nemo !!! 🙂

  2. Hey MoRS..where are you ?? Long time no see…all well ?

    • Loaded with work and kids falling sick during monsoon 😦 Will be back soon. Thanks for stopping by. I do keep reading your blog, but did not get a chance to comment. TC.

Leave a Reply

